1.3 C
New York

2024 WM Phoenix Open Full Field: Scottie Scheffler Chasing Three-Peat at Wild TPC Scottsdale


Super Bowl week is here and, in a sense, so is the PGA Tour’s Super Bowl.

Nothing on Tour is like the WM Phoenix Open, the self-described “Greatest Show on Grass” which plays to insanely large crowds with a good chunk of that insanity circling the par-3 16th hole at TPC Scottsdale.

A famous story Kenny Perry tells is when he checked into a Scottsdale hotel and told the clerk that he was in town for the Phoenix Open. “Oh, I love the Phoenix Open,” she said. “I go there every night.”

So it’s not exactly always about the golf at the WMPO. Want more evidence? Last year’s edition was a signature event, featuring virtually all the Tour’s top stars playing for a $20 million purse. But this year the event returned to “regular” status on Tour with an $8.8 million purse—and general admission tickets are sold out for Friday and Saturday.

Scottie Scheffler is pictured last year, making par at the raucous 16th hole on the way to a second straight win.

Rob Schumacher/USA TODAY Network

Many big names are still coming, however, including world No. 1 Scottie Scheffler who is chasing a three-peat. Only four players have won three Phoenix Opens in its 90-year-plus history (Arnold Palmer, Gene Littler, Mark Calcavecchia, Phil Mickelson) and none did so in three consecutive years. The last player to win any Tour event three years in a row was Steve Stricker at the John Deere Classic from 2009–11.

The only players from the top 10 in the world not coming are Jon Rahm, who left for LIV Golf; and Rory McIlroy and Patrick Cantlay, who are taking the week off.

Below is the rest of the field for the Tour’s wildest week.

2024 WM Phoenix Open Full Field

132 players

Alexander, Tyson
An, Byeong Hun
Baddeley, Aaron
Berger, Daniel
Bezuidenhout, Christiaan
Bhatia, Akshay
Blair, Zac
Bramlett, Joseph
Brehm, Ryan
Buckley, Hayden
Burns, Sam
Cauley, Bud
Champ, Cameron
Cink, Stewart
Clark, Wyndham
Cole, Eric
Conners, Corey
Dahmen, Joel
Detry, Thomas
Donald, Luke +
Dumont de Chassart, Adrien +
Duncan, Tyler
Echavarria, Nico
Eckroat, Austin
English, Harris
Fitzpatrick, Matt
Fowler, Rickie
Fox, Ryan
Ghim, Doug
Glover, Lucas
Gordon, Will
Gotterup, Chris +
Griffin, Ben
Griffin, Lanto
Grillo, Emiliano
Hadley, Chesson
Hadwin, Adam
Hall, Harry
Hardy, Nick
Harman, Brian
Higgo, Garrick
Hodges, Lee
Hoffman, Charley
Hoge, Tom
Holmes, J.B.
Homa, Max
Horschel, Billy
Hossler, Beau
Hovland, Viktor
Hubbard, Mark
Im, Sungjae
Johnson, Zach
Kim, Michael
Kim, S.H.
Kim, Si Woo
Kim, Tom
Kitayama, Kurt
Knapp, Jake
Kohles, Ben
Kuchar, Matt
Laird, Martin
Lashley, Nate
Lee, K.H.
Lee, Min Woo
Lipsky, David
List, Luke
Lower, Justin
Lowry, Shane
Malnati, Peter
Martin, Ben
Matsuyama, Hideki
McCarthy, Denny
McNealy, Maverick
Merritt, Troy
Mitchell, Keith
Montgomery, Taylor
Moore, Ryan
Moore, Taylor
Mueller, Jesse #
Murray, Grayson
NeSmith, Matt
Noren, Alex
Norrman, Vincent
Novak, Andrew
Pan, C.T.
Poston, J.T.
Power, Seamus
Putnam, Andrew
Rai, Aaron
Ramey, Chad
Reavie, Chez
Rodgers, Patrick
Ryder, Sam
Schauffele, Xander
Scheffler, Scottie
Schenk, Adam
Schmid, Matti
Scott, Adam
Shelton, Robby
Sigg, Greyson
Snedeker, Brandt
Spaun, J.J.
Spieth, Jordan
Stadler, Kevin +
Stallings, Scott
Stevens, Sam
Streelman, Kevin
Suh, Justin
Svensson, Adam
Tarren, Callum
Taylor, Ben
Taylor, Nick
Theegala, Sahith
Thomas, Justin
Thompson, Davis
Todd, Brendon
van Rooyen, Erik
Vegas, Jhonattan
Villegas, Camilo
Wallace, Matt
Whaley, Vince
Woodland, Gary
Wu, Brandon
Wu, Dylan
Young, Cameron
Young, Carson
Yu, Kevin
Yuan, Carl 

* – Open Qualifier
+ – Sponsor Exemption
# – Section Champion 

Source link

Related articles


Recent articles